Feed on
Posts
Comments

Schedule

Below are the dates on which we’re scheduled to discuss particular texts in class. Whenever possible, you should plan to post to the class blog an initial comment on a text before we discuss that text in class, though you may then wish to also respond on the blog to particular ideas or comments that emerge in our class discussions. We will not have time in class to discuss every important aspect of the texts. Nevertheless — and even because of this — you should use the blog as a means of actively responding to the texts and to your classmates’ comments.

(*) Available on Google Drive

Tuesday, September 18
INTRO

Thursday, September 20
Nawal El Saadawi, Woman at Point Zero

BETH MACY
Thursday, September 20
7:30 p.m.
Reahard Learning Gallery
Mary Cochran Library

Tuesday, September 25
Nawal El Saadawi, Woman at Point Zero

Thursday, September 27
Krys Lee, “A Temporary Marriage”*

Tuesday, October 2
Jumpha Lahiri, “A Temporary Matter”*

TESSA FONTAINE
Tuesday, October 2
7:30 p.m.
Reahard Learning Gallery
Mary Cochran Library

Thursday, October 4
Hanan al-Shakyh, “I Sweep the Sun Off Rooftops”*
Hanan al-Shakyh, “The Keeper of the Virgins”*

Tuesday, October 9
Yiyun Li, “Gold Boy, Emerald Girl”*

Thursday, October 11
Wislaw Symborska: Poems*

Tuesday, October 16
Dahlia Ravikovitch: Poems*
Taslima Nasrin: Poems*

Thursday, October 18
Chimamanda Adichie, Americanah

Tuesday, October 23
Chimamanda Adichie, Americanah

Thursday, October 25
Chimamanda Adichie, Americanah

CHIMAMANDA ADICHIE
Thursday, October 25
7:30 p.m.
Babcock Auditorium

Tuesday, October 30
Hanan al-Shaykh, The Occasional Virgin

Thursday, November 1
Hanan al-Shaykh, The Occasional Virgin

Tuesday, November 6
Maria Elena Cruz Varela: Poems*

Thursday, November 8
Lorna Goodison: Poems*

Tuesday, November 13
Yoko Tawada, The Emissary

Thursday, November 15
Yoko Tawada, The Emissary

Tuesday, November 20
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Thursday, November 22
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Tuesday, November 27
Han Kang, The Vegetarian

Thursday, November 29
Han Kang, The Vegetarian

Tuesday, December 4
Franz Kafka, “A Hunger Artist”*
Raymond Carver, “Fat”*

Thursday, December 6

Tuesday, December 11

Thursday, December 13

 

 

 

Comments are closed.